Tags

, , ,

2015-5-12-Sherlock

Title: Sherlock Holmes – Crimes and Punishments

Platform: PS3

Personal Trophy Completion: 100%

Rating: 8/10

Before we begin, realize that the scores I give for games are based on my own personal enjoyment. I am not rating them based on any ground breaking features or critical acclamation, but rather how much I liked playing them, and often how enjoyable it was to collect the trophies.

That being said, I really enjoyed this game. I’ve also played the other Holmes game, The Testament of Sherlock Holmes, and I preferred this one. It was broken down into six separate cases with individual story lines, and you go through collecting clues, interviewing suspects, and completing mini games in order to acquire evidence. I don’t want to give too many details because I don’t want to spoil the storyline! When you have enough evidence, you are able to make deductions which you can string together to eventually come up with a conclusion. There are multiple conclusions for each case, and you can view multiple endings depending on which one you pick. However, there is one “right” answer for each. Additionally, after you choose your conclusion you choose to either condemn or absolve the culprit, which changes your personality rating.

For Sherlock Holmes fans, all of the usual characters are involved. Watson is of course following your every move, his brother Mycroft appears occasionally, Wiggins fetches information from the questionable parts of town, and you even use Toby to sniff out clues. There are puzzles and fistfights, gunshots and arm wrestling, and you spend a good amount of time at 221B Baker St doing research and completing analyses. The controls are pretty intuitive if a little choppy, and once you figure out that you can make Holmes jog, movement becomes much easier. The gameplay is very forgiving, and the interface makes it easy to see what needs to be done. You have access to Holmes’ casebook which tracks pretty much everything, and doubles as a map for fast travel.

The trophies (and platinum #32!) were fairly easy to acquire. I follow guides for most of my gameplay as not to miss anything and this was no different. There is one trophy for unlocking all possible conclusions for each case which is easy to miss, as some conclusions become locked out after you gather more evidence, but each case is re-playable individually, so you are able to go back and get what you missed. I have very little patience for replaying games, so I was careful to get it right! The other thing to watch out for is there is a trophy for increasing your character/personality rating to the maximum level, which requires making the same moral choice for each ending. I chose to condemn all culprits, which seems straightforward but some of them really had mixed reasons for committing the crimes they did.

Overall, I enjoyed the style of this game and I would recommend it to anyone who likes adventure or mystery games.

