Tags

, , ,

2015-4-26-Aristotle

Title: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Author: Benjamin Alire Saenz

Length: 370 pages

Format: Kindle eBook

Rating: 4/10

I had trouble getting into this book. I had heard good things about it, and it had good reviews, so I was expecting a pretty good book. However, I found it pretty slow, and not particularly interesting. It wasn’t bad exactly, the characters and plot just didn’t grip me like I had hoped. Towards the end, it started to come together a bit more as questions were answered and you learned more about the characters, but by that time I was pretty ready for it to be over.

This book is about two boys, Aristotle and Dante, who meet one summer. They are from very different families, but bond over their loner status and unusual names. They begin to spend more time together, and learn a lot about each other, family, the universe, and their own relationship as time passes. Nothing much really happens until there is a major event in the middle of the book, and things got exciting at that point, but then quickly after the two are separated for a while, and it slows down again. The book just felt kind of choppy, the chapters were pretty short and didn’t really connect all that well. The narrator was Aristotle, and I didn’t find him all that likeable. I much preferred Dante’s character, and wished he could’ve narrated instead. Nothing about the book really stood out to me, and I wouldn’t read it again. It’s kind of hard to give too many details without spoilers, because so much of the book was written around various secrets and mysteries the boys encounter, as you might guess from the title.

I don’t think I can recommend this book, but read it if you think it sounds like something you’d like.

